Soon | A Poem

This is about a girl with a damsel-in-distress complex, she seeks a hero so she self destructs just to be saved. She like most of us forget that the only person or thing that can truly save us is in the mirror.

*****

1482a5c4231e85a430df29901140678b

Often, I self destruct
Just to hold your attention
Knowing you’ll save me
Before it’s too late
It’s too soon
To be too late
I don’t mind the wait

I can wait the wait
I can starve with grace
I can run from fate
You can be my hero
I’ll be your mistake
Darling, I self destruct
Hoping you’ll save me
Before it’s too late
Soon it will be too late
Sleeping with a heavy heart
I can’t bear the weight


Β© Eshe Kente 2017
Image by Russ Mills
BLUE RAPTURES AVAILABLE NOW

4 thoughts on “Soon | A Poem

Speak Now Or Forever Hold Your Peace

